We Went to the Woods by Caite Dolan-Leach

They went off the grid. Their secrets didn’t. For readers of The Secret History and The Immortalists comes a novel about the allure–and dangers–of disconnecting. Today is the anniversary. I will be hauntingly aware of it, an old delicious burden, all day, nursing it along, sipping from it as if from a hidden flask. It seems unreal, though, hereContinue reading “We Went to the Woods by Caite Dolan-Leach”

Harvest Home by Tom Tryon (1973)

Let me tell you I haven’t heard of Tom Tryon before this book and also had no idea that this book is over 40 years old! I had it in audiobook format for a very long drive and I literally thought it was written last year. There were only a few clues about the yearContinue reading “Harvest Home by Tom Tryon (1973)”

Why Do We Have to Live with Men? Bernadette Strachan

8 Women decided to give up men for various reasons and to isolate themselves in a commune in next to Lyme Regis in England for six whole months. Their lives turn up-side-down as they discover the sense of belonging and friendship that can either bring people together or drive them apart for good.