Jeffrey Archer Books

With the publication of his first novel in 1975, Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less, Jeffrey Archer established himself as a consummate storyteller.

In fact, The Washington Post hailed him as “A storyteller in the class of Alexandre Dumas”, and The Mail on Sunday acclaimed him as “probably the greatest storyteller of our age”. Such accolades are not merely dust-jacket filler – they’re substantiated by a body of work that has produced over 34 published titles and sold over 275 million copies around the world. Jeffrey’s books have been published in 97 countries and more than 33 languages.

Publication Order of Kane and Abel Books

Shall We Tell the President? (1977)
Kane and Abel (1980)
The Prodigal Daughter (1982)

Publication Order of Clifton Chronicles Books
Only Time Will Tell (2011)
The Sins of the Father (2012)
Best Kept Secret (2013)
Be Careful What You Wish (2014)
Mightier Than the Sword (2015)
Cometh the Hour (2016)
This Was a Man (2016)

Publication Order of William Warwick Books
Nothing Ventured (2019)

Publication Order of Standalone Novels
Not a Penny More, Not a Penny Less (1976)
First Among Equals (1984)
A Matter of Honour (1986)
As the Crow Flies (1991)
Honour Among Thieves (1993)
The Fourth Estate (1996)
The Eleventh Commandment (1998)
Sons of Fortune (2002)
False Impression (2003)
A Prisoner of Birth (2008)
Paths of Glory (2009)
Heads You Win (2018)

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas
Old Love (1990)
The Grass is Always Greener (2000)

Publication Order of Short Story Collections
A Quiver Full of Arrows (1980)
A Twist in the Tale (1988)
The Play’s the Thing (1990)
Twelve Red Herrings (1994)
The Collected Short Stories (1997)
To Cut a Long Story Short (2000)
A Collection of Short Stories (2000)
Cat O’Nine Tales and Other Stories (2006)
And Thereby Hangs a Tale (2010)
The New Collected Short Stories (2011)
Tell Tale (2017)

Publication Order of Children’s Books
The First Miracle (1980)
By Royal Appointment (1980)
Willy Visits the Square World (1980)
Willy and the Killer Kipper (1981)
Publication Order of Standalone Plays
Willy and the Killer Kipper (1981)
Beyond Reasonable Doubt (1989)
The Accused (2001)

Publication Order of Prison Diary Non-Fiction Books

Prison Diary * Jeffrey Archer (2003)
Hell (2002)
Purgatory (2003)
Heaven (2004)