Miss Peregrine’s Children Trilogy

MissPPeculiarChildrenMiss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children – by Ransom Riggs
When he was young, Jacob revered his grandfather, whose adventures with monsters in other countries enthralled him, especially as they were much more exciting than his own ordinary life in Florida. As he grew, however, Jacob sided with the rest of his family, calling his grandfather a paranoid, crazy old man and resenting him for telling lies. But when a gruesome tragedy devastates the family, Jacob takes a chance on his grandfather’s unbelievable stories to search for the truth and journeys to an island off the coast of Wales. Only what remains of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, where his grandfather grew up, can help Jacob uncover his grandfather’s story and help him begin his own.

I picked up the book because one of my favorite authors, John Green (Looking for Alaska), recommended it, and I wasn’t disappointed. Ransom Riggs interweaves antique pictures of beyond peculiar occurrences and people with the story, providing original visuals for the reader in a way that enhances the reading experience. Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children is a fun, fast, and refreshing read, especially given the current overflow of dystopian novels (though I do love a good dystopian novel). It’s strange and different but still holds on to a bit of sweetness. It’s the perfect blend.


Hollow City - Second Novel
Hollow City – Second Novel

Hollow City
This sequel to the first novel, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, begins in 1940, immediately after the first book ended.

Having escaped Miss Peregrine’s island by the skin of their teeth, Jacob and his new friends must journey to London, the peculiar capital of the world. Along the way, they encounter new allies, a menagerie of peculiar animals, and other unexpected surprises.

Complete with dozens of newly discovered vintage photographs.

Library of Souls
The third book in Ransom Riggs’ Peculiar Children series, Library of Souls, arrives on September 22, In the excerpt, Jacob and Emma—two of the eponymous “peculiar children” with supernatural powers—find themselves caught between a rock in a hard place in this excerpt—or more accurately, between a rock, a speeding train, a pair of ghost police, and a monster made of nightmares.

One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Children Trilogy

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: