Home

Welcome to my new site.

I had some good years writing content for carra-lucia-books.co.uk and then more funny things for theferkel.co.uk. I decided to ditch both and go all-in-one.

Latest from the Blog

Rosewater * Tade Thompson

Part cyberpunk, part post-colonial noir, full-blown weird: telepaths, implants and aliens in a future Nigeria? I’m sold. Rosewater is a fine blueprint upon which future science fiction stories should be written.

Underground by Haruki Murakami

Since the war ended, Japan’s economy has grown rapidly to the point where we’ve lost any sense of crisis and material things are all that matters. The idea that it’s wrong to harm others has gradually disappeared. It’s been said before, I know, but this really brought it home to me. What happens if you raiseContinue reading “Underground by Haruki Murakami”

The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2015

WONDER IS A blasting cap. It is an emotion that goes off with a bang, shattering settled beliefs, rattling the architecture of the mind, and clearing space for new ideas, new possibilities. Wonder is often thought of as a peaceful emotion, a sense of resounding inner quiet. Of course we would associate it with silence. The world always assumes an eerie hush after an explosion.

Awe is TNT for the soul.

Maid * Stephanie Land

I’ve learned that making a living is not the same thing as making a life. Maya Angelou I only heard about this book when I watched the Netflix series with the same name. That was heartbreaking to say the least and when I saw it was based on a real story, a real person whoContinue reading “Maid * Stephanie Land”

Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse * JOHN JOSEPH ADAMS

Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse is an anthology of post-apocalyptic fiction published by Night Shade Books in January 2008, edited by John Joseph Adams.[1] The anthology includes 22 stories, plus an introduction by the editor. According to the anthology’s official web site, “Wastelands explores the scientific, psychological, and philosophical questions of what it means toContinue reading “Wastelands: Stories of the Apocalypse * JOHN JOSEPH ADAMS”

Widowland * J.C. Carrey

An alternative history with a strong feminist twist, perfect for fans of Robert Harris’ Fatherland, Christina Dalcher’s Voxand the dystopian novels of Margaret Atwood.

Inside Out – Maria V Snyder

The Pop Cops’ prophets preached that Outside could only be attained after a person’s life ends. And only if the person worked hard and obeyed Inside’s laws. If a scrub was worthy, his inner soul would travel to Outside while his physical body would be fed to Chomper. Most of the scrubs believed this Pop CopContinue reading “Inside Out – Maria V Snyder”

Of Mobsters and Men: WILD (Book #2) by L.A TehPeaceMaker 

Read here: https://www.wattpad.com/633821684-of-mobsters-and-men-wild-a-n Stefano Vanzetti. You’d have to be living under a rock if you grew up in northern Boston and didn’t know who he is. He’s the heartthrob of every Italian girl in my neighborhood, the man who’s probably had your daughter roll through his sheets at least once, the devilishly handsome mysterious manContinue reading “Of Mobsters and Men: WILD (Book #2) by L.A TehPeaceMaker “

Get new content delivered directly to your inbox.